GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Knight earns All-Conference honors

High Point, NC Ė Three Pfeiffer basketball players were selected for 2008-09 All-Conference honors.† Womenís basketballís Devona Knight (Woodbridge, VA) was named to the All-Conference Honorable Mention team, while Chris Woods (Thomasville, NC) and Robert McGriff (Lancaster, SC) were named to the menís All-Conference second team. Head coaches from Conference Carolinas member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.

Knight, a sophomore guard, marked eight double-doubles this year and averaged 12.4 ppg.† She averaged 8.4 rebounds and 3.72 assists per game. Knight had 227 rebounds on the season and brought down as astonishing 27 against St. Andrews.† She ranked third in the conference in rebounding.† Knight also averaged 1.24 steals and .32 blocks per game.

Woods, a sophomore forward, averaged 16.1 ppg for the Falcons this season. He leads the Conference Carolinas in field goal percentage (66%), is ranked 12th in the NCAA, and is fourth in the league in rebounding, averaging 8.2 rbg. He marked 32 points on 17 shots versus Queens University of Charlotte. Woods tallied 15 or more rebounds in three different conference games.†

McGriff, a senior guard, is ranked 2nd in the conference and leads Pfeiffer in assists.† He averages 4.3 apg and had eight games with more than five assists in each game.† McGriff scored 15.1 ppg on average and shots 81 percent from the free throw line. He marked 28 points and seven assists versus Coker College this season.


Womenís All-Conference 1st-Team
Esty Flores, Barton
Tomeka Prichard, Mount Olive
Audrey Timmerman, Erskine
Jasmine Whitby, Mount Olive
Marissa Hudley, Queens

Womenís All-Conference 2nd-Team
Keana Boyd, Anderson
Henna Koponen, Coker
Shayla Jackson, Belmont Abbey
Sara Fleming, Barton
Porsha Morgan, Erskine

Womenís All-Conference Honorable Mention
Alexa Neal, Anderson
Blanca Gonzalez, Limestone
Courtney Naquin, Belmont Abbey
Lotta Aaltonen, Coker
Devona Knight, Pfeiffer

Freshman of the Year
Porsha Morgan, Erskine

Player of the Year
Esty Flores, Barton

Coach of the Year
Jessica Ridgell, Erskine

Menís All-Conference 1st-Team
Kendrick Easley, Mount Olive
L.J. Dunn, Barton
Richard Barbee, Belmont Abbey
Brandon Young, Anderson
Brandon Wright, Erskine

Menís All-Conference 2nd-Team
Chris Woods, Pfeiffer
Aaron Suggs, Barton
Robert McGriff, Pfeiffer
Josh Poston, Coker
Chad Patus, Belmont Abbey

Menís All-Conference Honorable Mention
Mason Ambler, Coker
Mike Holloman, Mount Olive
Craig Hayes, Mount Olive
Justin Melton, Mount Olive
Jonathan Jackson, Belmont Abbey

Freshman of the Year
Daniel Bailey, Queens

Player of the Year
Kendrick Easley, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year
Joey Higginbotham, Mount Olive
Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner