GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Four Falcons All-Conference, Guiliano COTY

High Point, NC -- Conference Carolinas announced the 2008 award winners at their annual Volleyball Honors Banquet that was hosted by Lees-McRae College on Friday evening. Awards include All-Conference First, Second, and Honorable Mention teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, & Regular Season Champions. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.

Regular Season Champions Pfeiffer University had four players named to the All-Conference teams. Making the 1st team were junior middle blocker Brittany Dickens (Wake Forest, NC), senior outside hitter Petra Ljubicic (Asheboro, NC) and senior setter Morgan Liebert (Huntersville, NC). Senior middle blocker Lauren Spiotta (Batavia, NY) was named to the 2nd team. Lady Falcon Head Coach Ben Guiliano was named Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year.

Pfeiffer, ranked as high as fifth in the region this season, set new records season with the Most Conference Wins in a Season (18-2), the Most Overall Wins in school history (27-6), taking the Regular Season Champion title for the first time as a DII competitor.

All-Conference 1st-Team
Melissa Thomas Limestone College
Amanda Edwards Anderson University
Racey Bartley Mount Olive College
Brittany Dickens Pfeiffer University
Petra Ljubicic Pfeiffer University

Mallory Peavler Mount Olive College
Morgan Liebert Pfeiffer University

All-Conference 2nd-Team
Galina Podolsky St. Andrews Presbyterian College
Alicia Mote Mount Olive College
Lauren Spiotta Pfeiffer University
Whitney Kiser Lees-McRae
Ashley Prince Anderson University
Adria Mullaney Anderson University
Lindsay Doggett Anderson University

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Mel Ritter Barton College
Samantha Flannery Limestone College
Emily Frohnapfel Belmont Abbey College
Kell Bogdan Lees-McRae College
Joanie Werling Mount Olive College

Freshman of the Year

Megan Epperson Lees-McRae College

Player of the Year

Melissa Thomas Limestone College

Coach of the Year
Ben Guiliano Pfeiffer University

Regular Season Champions
Pfeiffer University
Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner