GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Athletics Hall of Fame to Enshrine Three New Members Tonight

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – Two individuals and one athletic team will be the newest entries in the Pfeiffer University Sports Hall of Fame after the induction ceremony takes place on Friday night to kickoff Homecoming Weekend 2011. The 1961 men’s soccer team, Candace Phifer and James Fritz will all be enshrined as the class of 2011.

The 1961 Falcons put up a 9-1-1 overall record under head coach N.E. Lefko with a 31-man roster. The Hall of Fame worthy year began with a 2-1 victory over the University of South Carolina before romping USC 5-0 later in the same season. Key wins during the year came with a 5-3 defeat of N.C. State, 4-3 victory in overtime against Appalachian State and 3-2 over nearby Davidson. The lone loss of the season came at UNC-Chapel Hill 3-1 while the tie came in the second matchup of the season with Belmont Abbey 2-2.

Members of the 1961 men’s soccer team are: Lynn Suydam, Ray Hopper, Sid Jones, Robert Taylor, Bob Davis, Joel Tournquist, James Chaffer, Don Gabriel, John McGinn, Gordon Hill, Edwin Seeley, Charles Chan, Jessie Williford, Ken Hildreth, John Soldati, Bill Devenney, Bruce Hayes, Tom Hudgins, Ken Conner, Harry Seitz, Dean Lamont, Charles Warren, Frank Richards, Don Bryan, Bill Hughes, Alex Wingate, George Pfeffer Jerry Mason, William Hankin, Darrell Ayers and Earl Smith.

Phifer, a 2000 graduate of Pfeiffer, was a two-sport star in both women’s basketball and cross country. Phifer still holds the school records in basketball for career rebounds (979), games played (107), career free throws made (457), free throw attempts (656) and free throws in a season (145). Phifer also ranks in the top three career categories of field goals made (566), field goal percentage (.533) and career points (1,589). During her tenure in the village, Phifer was named team MVP in three of her four seasons, all-conference twice and a three-time Pfeiffer Female Athlete of the Year.

As a long distance runner with cross country, Phifer was the team’s MVP and an all-conference selection in all four seasons winning numerous all-conference academic awards. She was the league’s Murphy Osborne Award Recipient in 1999 for her achievements in both sports.

Fritz enters the Hall of Fame after a very successful 12-year coaching career at the helm of men’s lacrosse. Taking home conference titles in 1994, 1997 and 1998, Fritz helped turn 60 student-athletes in all-conference players while making 22 of them all-Americans. Fritz also sent three players to the World Lacrosse Games and helped three become professionals drafted after their collegiate playing days. Fritz served on numerous NCAA and All-American committees. Two of Fritz’s former players are also members of the Hall of Fame.

For four years from 1991-1994, Fritz was also the head coach of women’s cross country leading them to back-to-back Conference Championship in ’92-’93. Nine turned out to be all-conference performers while seven qualified for the national meet.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner