GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Cox Racks Up Yet Another Postseason Award; Named Only Conference Carolinas Representative to NCCSIA All-State Team

SALISBURY, N.C. - The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) announced its selections for the 2011-12 College Division All-State Women’s Basketball Team on Tuesday.  Pfeiffer University’s Brittany Cox (Winston-Salem, NC) racks up yet another postseason award being named a first timer to the NCCSIA All-State Team. Cox is the only representative again from Conference Carolinas. Nominees were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals.  NCCSIA members voted for the all-state teams.  Teams are selected for men and women in both the college and university (NCAA Division I) divisions.

Players representing eight different North Carolina Colleges and Universities have been named to the 2011-12 NCCSIA College Division Women’s Basketball All-State Teams.  Dana Hicks, of Catawba, earns a spot on the team for the third time, while Keyona Bryant, of St. Augustine’s, Megan Rahn, of Meredith, and Cameron Sealey, of Lenoir-Rhyne, become two-time selections.

Hicks earned All-America honors after averaging a double-double for the third straight season for Catawba.  This season, she averaged 13.9 points and 11.9 rebounds in being named the South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year.  She finished her career with a school-record 56 double-doubles.  Hicks led the SAC and ranked seventh in NCAA II in rebounding.

Bryant, who was a first team selection in 2010, returns to the team after being named the Central Intercollegiate Athlete Association Player of the Year.  The senior averaged 16.9 points and 9.8 rebounds a game for St. Augustine’s.  The three time All-CIAA selection ranked third in the league in rebounding and finished her career with 1,601 points.

Megan Rahn, of Meredith, moves up from the second team last season.  The senior was the second-leading scorer in NCAA Division III at 24.2 points per game.  She finished second in USA South in rebounding with a 9.7 average. 

Pfeiffer’s Cox and Guilford’s Gabby Oglesby round out the first team selection as rookies on the All-State squad.   Cox earned all-conference and all-region honors after averaging 20.8 points and 6.8 rebounds a game.  Her scoring average was ninth best in NCAA Division II.  Oglesby was named the Old Dominion Athletic Conference Player of the Year as a sophomore.  She averaged 14.7 points, 7.8 rebounds and 2.3 blocks a game in helping Guilford to its first NCAA III Tournament berth. 

The second team consists of Sealey, Nikki Burton, of Wingate, and the UNC Pembroke trio of DeDe Cotton, Jazmine Kemp and Domonique Washington.

Founded in 2002, The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina.  The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools.  Membership is open to anyone affiliated with a college, university or conference located in North Carolina, and whose area of responsibility lies within sports information. 

NCSSIA selects all-state teams in the University (Division I) and College (Division II, III, NAIA) divisions for men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s soccer, volleyball, softball and baseball.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner