GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Athens Leads the Way as Women's Lacrosse Lands Seven on All-Conference Teams

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas All-Conference Women's Lacrosse Teams were determined by vote from each head coach of participating institutions. Pfeiffer University is represented by seven all-conference winners for women's lacrosse. Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine First Team, Second Team, Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year award winners. Awards will be presented at the Conference Tournament Championships hosted by Queens University of Charlotte at this weekend's conference championship. This year's award winners are as follows:

Player of the Year
Brittany Philip – Queens University of Charlotte
Brittany Philip had a remarkable senior season on the lacrosse field accumulating 64 points on 54 goals and 10 assists to lead the Royals this season. Philip also tallied 66 draw controls, 37 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers. The senior attacker led the conference in goals the entire season and is currently ranked third in the nation. She ranks third in the league and 11th in the nation in total points. Philip currently sits atop Queens’ all-time leading list for career goals (166), and draw controls (189). She is also second in career points with 205 and ground balls with 141. Philip’s 54 goals set a new season record at Queens as well.

Freshman of the Year
Samantha McCarrick – Limestone College
In her first collegiate campaign McCarrick has burst out of the gate with totals of 32 goals, seven assists and 39 points along with 22 groundballs, 21 draw controls and eight caused turnovers. She is currently second in goals scored on the fifth-highest scoring team in the country and is fourth in points.

Coach of the Year
Scott Tucker – Limestone College
Limestone head coach Scott Tucker earns his sixth Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year award as he has led the Saints to a stellar 14-1 overall record and perfect 6-0 mark in league play for their eighth consecutive regular season championship. This follows a year in which he led the team to its first ever NCAA DII National Championship Game appearance.

Women’s Lacrosse Regular Season Champions
Limestone College

All-Conference First Team
Brittany Philip – Queens University of Charlotte
Sarah Oor – Limestone College
Liz Melesh – Pfeiffer University
Raquel Prager – Limestone College
Shannon Casey – Queens University of Charlotte
Elyse Mohn – Belmont Abbey
Shannon Bonnel – Pfeiffer University
Rachel Hebberd – Pfeiffer University
Brittany Barnwell – Queens University of Charlotte
Samantha McCarrick – Limestone
Lindsay Connolly – Belmont Abbey
Katherine Athens – Pfeiffer University
Skylar Marcoux – Limestone College
Allie Rhodes – Queens University of Charlotte
Brigid Milchling – Limestone College

All-Conference Second Team
Sylvia Queener – Limestone College
Laura Dowd – Belmont Abbey College
Alesia Jerrells – Erskine College
Brianna Hoffman – Converse College
Chelsea Treat – Limestone College
Samantha Burns – Erskine College
Kristi Kemp - Queens University of Charlotte
Sam Green – Converse College
Britton Muir – Pfeiffer University
Meghan McSherry – Belmont Abbey College
Laura Shea – Pfeiffer University
Jenelle Fortunato – Limestone College
Akasha Kasper – Queens University of Charlotte
Molly Punk – Pfeiffer University
Kaitlyn Overley – Erskine College

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner