GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Minery Selected as Conference Carolinas Player of the Year; Woerner and Wernecke Earn All-Conference Honors

High Point, N.C. – Loic Minery was named the 2013-14 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year at Thursday evenings banquet. Minery was also named to the First Team All-Conference and teammates Axel Woerner and Sebastian Wernecke earned Third Team All-Conference honors.

Following an 8-2 conference record in 2013, Pfeiffer’s Loic Minery followed that up with a 15-2 overall and 7-1 conference record from the number one singles spot. Minery led the Falcons to a 13-4 overall record and 5-3 mark in conference play, while being nearly unbeatable all season. Playing exclusively at number one doubles with Werenecke, the duo went 13-3 including wins over nationally ranked University of Mount Olive, Limestone College, and USC-Aiken. 
The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team.  Awards were presented at the league tennis team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Erskine College and the Palmetto Park Tennis Complex in Sumter, SC.

Pfeiffer opens up tournament play tomorrow morning at noon as they earned the No. 4 seed and take on the No. 5 seed Limestone. 

This year's award winners are as follows:
Player of the Year:
Loic Minery, Pfeiffer

Freshman of the Year:
Jake McCartney, Barton

Coach of the Year:
Kevin Coghill, Mount Olive

Conference Carolinas Regular Season Champions:
University of Mount Olive
All-Conference First Team:
Loic Minery, Pfeiffer
Matt Finnerty, Mount Olive
Rodrigo Avila, King
Jake McCartney, Barton
Conner McMann, Belmont Abbey
Edgar Bub, Mount Olive
All-Conference Second Team:
Sjors van Eck, North Greenville
 Henric Falkenberg, Mount Olive
Wilson Mathewes, Erskine
Stanley Roffe, Mount Olive
Jason Harris, Erskine
Rafael Ruiz, Barton

All-Conference Third Team:
Pablo Vidal, King
Antoine Le Dore, Limestone
Axel Woerner, Pfeiffer
Stefano Soares, Limestone
Andres Santiago Robles Camacho, North Greenville
Sebastian Wernecke, Pfeiffer

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner