Thursday, March 21, 2013

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas is proud to announce the Winter Scholar Athletes of the Year as recently voted on by the student-athlete affairs committee. This prestigious award is presented annually to a student-athlete in each sport for recognition of their outstanding academic and athletic achievements. Pfeiffer University's Brittany Cox racks up another postseason award being named the league's representative for women's basketball.

Each school submits candidates that are the best of the best for the conference from their sport while meeting certain qualifications for nomination. The qualifications include being a junior or senior student-athlete with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year. Additionally, in order to qualify for the award the student-athlete must be a current member of the All-Conference Carolinas First, Second, or Third Team that were recently selected by head coaches from conference member institutions that nominate and then vote upon award winners.


Pfeiffer Universityís Brittany Cox has been named this yearís Conference Carolinas Womenís Basketball Scholar Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year.† Cox helped lead Pfeiffer University to the NCAA Southeast Regional semifinals compiling a 25-7 overall and 17-5 conference team record.† Cox was named to the All-Conference Carolinas 2nd team and was an All-Conference performer for three years in the league.† In 2011-12 Cox was an All-American Honorable Mention, and All-Region performer, and led the conference in scoring for the year.† The Winston Salem native posts a 3.97 GPA while majoring in Sports Management with a minor in Business Administration and Athletic Coaching.† She has been an Academic All-American, Academic All-Region, Academic All-Conference, Conference Presidential Honor Roll, and Deanís List member each eligible year of her career.†