2011 Pfeiffer Hall of Fame induction

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – Pfeiffer University Athletics will add three more individuals and one team into the Sports Hall of Fame on Friday to help kickoff Homecoming Weekend 2012. Tony DavisDavid GianferanteJohn Jez and the 1975 men’s soccer team will all be enshrined during the banquet on Friday night.

Davis played on the men’s basketball team from 1983 to 1987 being named the Carolinas Conference Most Valuable Player in 1986-1987. Additional postseason hardware also includes All-Carolinas Conference and NAIA All-District awards in the ’84-’85 and 86’-87’ seasons. Davis scored 1,362 career points leading the Falcons to the NAIA National Tournament’s Sweet 16 during the 1984-1985 season.

Gianferante was a two-sport athlete playing men’s soccer and golf. Gianferante registered 42 career goals including a four-goal performance during a 1969 homecoming match against N.C. Wesleyan. Gianferante’s golf career led him to being named the 2012 MIAA Girls Golf Coach of the Year and has been named a three-time Coach of the Year by the Boston Globe. Gianferante was also named the National Federation of High School Coach of the Year in 2006.

Jez enters the Sports Hall of Fame after a successful career for the men’s lacrosse program from 1991-1994. Jez currently ranks in the top-five of five different school records, all in offensive categories. Jez racked up all-conference awards in 1994, one year after being named an All-American Honorable Mention. Leading the men’s lacrosse team at C.W. Post since 2007, Jez has brought home national championships in back-to-back 2009 and 2010 seasons while making it back to the final four in 2011. He was also the 2009 USILA Division II Coach of the Year.

The 1975 men’s soccer team still holds the top mark for 13 wins, most goals in a season (90) and most goals in a game with 15 against Atlantic Christian (now Barton) and ranks third all-time in winning percentage. Season highlights include a 3-1 win over N.C. State, 1-0 victory over Duke and successful matches against Elon, Campbell, Guilford, High Point and UNC-Greensboro.

Head Coach – Bob Parry
Assistant Coach – John McInnis
Team Manager – Richard Lodge

Will Hughes, Mark Rollman, Al Kaye, Kevin Biglin, Randy Toole, Dave Salveson, Greg Bryne, Matt Groff, Eric Frasier, Tommy Liu, Cary Saul, Andy Levine, Roger Gompers, Robert Hinch, Ron Berger, Chuck Nichols, Marvin Reynolds, Mike Stroff, Dave Jarrett, Harry Chaffey, Coleman Breland