Falcons Break Wins Record with Sweep of Belmont Abbey

Photo - Sean Meyers
Photo - Sean Meyers

Jeremy Zalacca - Director of Athletic Communications

MISENHEIMER, N.C. - With a sweep of Belmont Abbey on Wednesday night, the No. 4 Pfeiffer softball team (40-4, 18-2) broke the record for most wins in a season which was set a year ago. The Falcons 39 wins in 2016 were topped thanks to a 6-2 victory in game two as Pfeiffer wrapped up the home portion of their 2017 regular season.

In the opener, Pfeiffer blitzed the Crusaders (9-29-2, 6-16) with 10 runs in the first three innings to take an abbreviated 10-0 victory in five innings. Pfeiffer scored four runs in each of the first two innings and Chandler Walker drove in six runs in her first two at bats of the game.

The top three batters in the order were a perfect 4-for-4 with seven runs scored and four walks. Vada Blue Sherrill scored three times to increase her career total to a program-record 109. Stephanie Fortner drew a pair of walks and sits three free passes shy of breaking the single season record of 37. Makenzie Pennell drove in two more runs to escalate her season total to 54, which is also a single season record.

Walker finished the day 2-for-3 with a double, home run and six runs batted in. Kiana Millsaps improved to 8-1 in the circle with three shutout innings and one strike out.

In the record-breaking game two, Pfeiffer fell behind 1-0 after the first inning but rallied for three runs in the bottom of the second. Abi Peck's RBI double tied the game and Sherrill would score two with a double to give the Falcons a 3-1 edge. Later in the game, Millsaps drove in two and Emma Tuttle added another RBI to help senior Sydney Poole improve to 13-0 in the circle. Poole went 6.1 innings and allowed only one run while striking out four batters.

Pfeiffer will conclude the regular season on Saturday with a trip to Bristol, Tenn to take on King University. First pitch is scheduled for 1 p.m. as the Falcons look to claim their first regular season conference title since 2000.