2018 Sports Hall of Fame Class Announced

2018 Sports Hall of Fame Class Announced

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – The Pfeiffer University Athletic Department has announced that Ken Budd (wrestling), Kevin Iwanusa (lacrosse), Warren Knapp (tennis), Fran Knapp (field hockey), Ed McDuell (soccer), Kammie Studley (lacrosse) and the 2003-04 men's basketball team have been elected as the 2018 Sports Hall of Fame class. The new inductees will be honored at the Sports Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday, September 29 in Merner Gymnasium.

"We're always excited to announce another Sports Hall of Fame class," commented VP for Athletics Bob Reasso. "In particular, we are delighted with this 2018 class. They are a tremendous group of athletes and human beings who have represented Pfeiffer at a very high level. We look forward to honoring them."

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee Biographies

Ken Budd – Wrestling

Budd was a three-time Conference Champion as he wrestled at Pfeiffer from 1979-83. Budd was twice the District Champion and finished top 10 at the National Tournament in 1979 and 1983. Following his tremendous collegiate career, Budd took over as the program's head coach for the 1984-85 season and developed heavyweight Bruce Lambert into an All-American. Under Budd's tutelage, Lambert finished fourth at both the NAIA and NCAA Tournaments. For his efforts, Budd was named Conference Coach of the Year.

Kevin Iwanusa – Lacrosse

One of the best players in program history, Iwanusa owns the record for most points in a single game (15) and most assists in a single game (9). Iwanusa's mark of 109 points scored in 1997 still stands and no one has been able to come within 14 points of that achievement. Over his brilliant career, Iwanusa ranks first in program history with 126 points, second with 249 points and fourth with 123 goals.

Warren Knapp – Tennis

Knapp has had a tremendous impact on Pfeiffer athletics. In his career, Knapp played for the Falcons from 1962-66 and earned multiple team MVP honors. Knapp won conference individual and team championships during his time and was one of the most consistent tennis players in Pfeiffer history. Following his playing career, Knapp took the reigns as the program's head coach.

Fran Knapp – Field Hockey

Fran Knapp started the Pfeiffer Field Hockey program and was instrumental in recruiting players that would go on to win the 1981 National Championship. That was Pfeiffer's first and only NCAA National Championship until the men's soccer team won one in 2015. The 1981 National Championship team was enshrined in the Sports Hall of Fame in 1993.

Ed McDuell – Soccer

During his time in Misenheimer, McDuell was a three-year starter for the Falcons. McDuell played left halfback and center back for Pfeifer was named to the 1967 All-South team and was also team captain. McDuell helped the 1965 nationally-ranked Pfeiffer team to a 10-1-0 record. McDuell was a two-sport athlete at Pfeiffer, also competing for the tennis team.

Kammie Studley – Lacrosse

Perhaps the best goalie in team history, Studley sits atop the record books in many categories. For her career, Studley is tops with 563 career saves and a .585 save percentage. Studley also owns the program record with 168 saves in 2004 and her .617 save percentage in 2003 is second all-time. In fact, Studley owns three of the five best single-season marks for save percentage and led the team to an 11-4 mark in her senior season. Studley was named a First Team All-American and First Team All-Conference performer in 2004.

2003-04 Men's Basketball Team

One of the greatest teams to play inside Merner Gym, the 2003-04 Falcons set program records for most wins in a season (31) and highest winning percentage (.912), while advancing all the way to the NCAA Elite 8. The Falcons were a perfect 20-0 at home that season, including home wins in each of the first three rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Pfeiffer defeated Mount Olive 106-95 in the Conference Carolinas Championship to earn the automatic bid to March Madness and sweep the league's regular season and tournament titles. Rico Grier led the Falcons with 20.1 points per game and Dave Davis was named the Conference Coach of the Year. Anthony Williams earned Conference Tournament MVP honors. With 3,278 points, the 03-04 version of the Falcons is the highest scoring in team history and led the NCAA in scoring. Pfeiffer opened the season on an 18-game winning streak and scored over 100 points 13 times.