Calhoun and Sherrill Named Male and Female Athletes of the Year

Calhoun and Sherrill Named Male and Female Athletes of the Year

MISENHEIMER, N.C. -- Pfeiffer Athletics has announced the 2017-18 Athletes of the Year who will be honored at the Pfeiffer Sports Hall of Fame Ceremony on the evening of September 29. Men's basketball star Josh Calhoun has been selected as the Male Athlete of the Year, while softball standout Vada Blue Sherrill earned the Female Athlete of the Year.

"These are two very special student-athletes," commented VP for Athletics Bob Reasso. "Josh is an incredible player who finished his career with an outstanding season. Vada is one of the best Division III softball players in America. We couldn't be prouder of them and we are happy to name them Male and Female Athletes of the Year."

In his senior campaign, Calhoun shot 49.6 percent from the field and 46.6 percent from long range to lead the Falcons to a second straight 20-win season. Calhoun was named a First Team All-American by Basketball Times and also earned Second Team All-ECAC honors. In his best game of the year, Calhoun torched William Peace to the tune of 46 points on Dec. 31. Calhoun tied the program record with 10 made 3-pointers that game and came within five points of breaking the single-game scoring record. In a six-game stretch from Dec. 9-Jan. 6, Calhoun was an incredible 40-for-62 (64.5 percent) from the three-point line and the Rockingham, N.C. native posted four straight games with 30 or more points.

Sherrill was named a Second Team All-American by the NFCA and also earned ECAC Player of the Year honors. Sherrill was twice named the NFCA National Player of the Week and shattered the record book in her junior year. The Hiddenite, N.C. native broke the single-season team record for batting average (.508), on base percentage (.593), slugging percentage (.992), runs (64), home runs (16), runs batted in (69), total bases (129) and stolen bases (56). She becomes the first player to be named ECAC Player of the Year in Pfeiffer history and the first All-American selection in program history. Sherrill also led the Falcons to an ECAC Championship and garners her second Pfeiffer Female Athlete of the Year honor.

The duo will be honored along with the 2018 Hall of Fame class, consisting of Ken Budd, Kevin Iwanusa, Warren Knapp, Fran Knapp, Ed McDuell, Kammie Studley and the 2003-04 Men's Basketball Team.