2013 Athletic Hall of Fame Class Announced

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – On Friday, September 27, the Pfeiffer University Sports Hall of Fame will induct the 2013 class which consists of: Hal Sparks, Larry Sedberry, Lyndsey Boswell and Monty Sherrill. The event will take place in the Stokes Community Center at 6:00 p.m. on Pfeiffer’s campus.

Sparks, a 1965 Pfeiffer graduate, was a standout for the soccer team and also became a great coach after his time in Misenheimer. Sparks is a five time High School Coach of the Year and also coached collegiately at Appalachian State and UMBC. Hal is a member of five different halls of fame.

Seberry was a member of the first graduating class at Pfeiffer, in 1957. Larry taught and coached on the high school level for 30 years after leaving Pfeiffer. As a member of the Falcons baseball squad, “Satch” was the team MVP in 1956 and compiled a 16-3 record at Pfeiffer. He went on to play at the semi-pro level and was named the Biscoe team MVP when he went 22-3 on the mound.

Lydnsey Boswell graduated in 2005 and holds five records for the Pfeiffer women’s lacrosse team. She is tops in goals in a game (9), points in a game (14), goals in a season (63), career goals (190) and career points (295). Boswell went on to coach at St. Andrews Presbyterian and started the program at High Point University. She posted 15 wins in the first season, an NCAA record for a first year program, and brought her team to the 2013 NCAA National Tournament.

Monty Sherrill graduated in 1987 and is a legendary softball coach. Once his baseball career concluded, Sherrill began coaching at the high school level and has a career 689-59 record over 24 seasons. Sherrill won 24 straight conference titles, nine state 4A titles, and is recognized as the National Federation Coach with the highest winning percentage in the nation.

In addition to the four inductees, the 1981 Field Hockey National Championship team will be honored and given Championship rings. The team was inducted to the Sports Hall of Fame in 1993.