ECAC BOUND: Men's Lacrosse Selected for ECAC Division III Tournament

ECAC BOUND:  Men's Lacrosse Selected for ECAC Division III Tournament

Pfeiffer Men's Lacrosse Selected to Participate in ECAC Division III Tournament

Misenheimer, N.C. (May 6, 2019) –
 The Pfeiffer University men's lacrosse team has been selected to participate in the 2019 ECAC Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship.

The four-team bracket will begin play on Saturday, May 11 and will conclude with the championship game on Sunday, May 12 at 1:00 p.m. All games will be played at
Bobcat Stadium on the campus of Frostburg State University in Frostburg, Md.

The Falcons earned the third-seed in the tournament and will take on second-seeded Westminster College at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday.  Top-seeded and host Frostburg State will take on fourth-seeded Neumann University in the opening game of the tournament at 11:00 a.m.

The Titans enter with a 9-7 overall record after falling to Grove City College 13-4 in the Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) championship game. They completed conference play with a 5-2 overall record on the year and are led by Ryan Shorts, Joe Rosa and Shane Fisher.  Shorts led the team in goals with 30 and had 16 assists while Rosa had 26 goals on the year to go along with seven assists.  Fisher scored 24 goals on the season and had seven assists, finishing with 31 total points.

Pfeiffer enters the game at 8-7 overall and finished USA South play at 5-2.  The Falcons are led by junior attack Jared Nelson, as he piled up 106 points on the season on 44 goals and 62 assists. For his efforts, he was named USA South Player of the Year.  Pfeiffer also boasts senior John Allen, who scored 59 goals on the season followed by Jacob Leone, who tallied 17 goals and 21 assists, finishing with 38 points.

2019 ECAC Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship (Bobcat Stadium – Frostburg State)

Semifinals - May 11, 2019
Game 1 - #1 Frostburg State (10-8) vs. No. 4 Neumann University (9-7) – 11:00 a.m.
Game 2 - #2 Westminster College (9-7) vs. No. 3 Pfeiffer University (8-7) – 1:00 p.m.

Championship - May 12, 2019
Game 3 – Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner – 1:00 p.m.

Established in 1938, the ECAC is the nation's largest Conference, ranging in location from Maine to Georgia, and westerly to Missouri. The ECAC hosts numerous championships in men's and women's sports across Divisions I, II and III, offering opportunities for thousands of student-athletes. For more information, visit